The End of History

Dad and I at a family weddingPosting this today because I woke up this morning from a dream where Dad came back to life so he could walk me down the aisle. Been crying off and on all day.

For those unfamiliar with me, my dad passed away suddenly of a brain aneurysm on Father’s Day 2011.

 

The End of History

Oh, what I would give
if you had woken up
that last time I tucked you in,
sang Amazing Grace to you in a whisper
choked with tears,
and kissed you on your forehead ā€“

Oh, what I would give
if history had repeated itself
when I did those things
like I had so often before
(except for the song ā€“ you hated my singing)
and you would crack an eye open
and smile
and say goodbye, and I love you ā€“

Oh, what I would give
to say goodbye
and
I love you.

